Projects Overview

A critical step in the Product Development process is the ability to organize and plan out work. Projects are a way to organize information within Albert and help promote digital collaboration between teams while also protecting Intellectual Property (IP). 

This article outlines how to create new projects, navigate existing projects, edit project details, and close projects. 

Searching and Filtering Projects

Opening up the Projects module will open a list of all Projects. From there, you can easily search, filter, and sort by a variety of criteria.

For more information on searching and filtering Projects, navigate to this help article.

Creating a new Project

You can create a Project within Albert from any page by clicking the Create button in the navigation panel at the top of the page and selecting 'Project'. From there, the project creation modal will appear, prompting you to fill out information about your project. 

Screenshot_2022-12-19_at_9.57.02_AM.png

 

Navigating a Project

Project Section Description Tips & Tricks
Project Home The Project Home is the landing page that displays important information pertaining to a particular Project. From this page, it becomes simple to tell how many products, tasks, and collaborators are involved in the Project. Clicking on Tasks, Products / Formulas, Reports, and Collaborators under the Project name shows a brief overview of information related to the Project. The Project Home allows for easy sorting, filtering, and searching of Tasks within a Project as well as providing an overview of all other relevant Project information.

For more information on the Project Home page, see the Project Home help article.

Worksheet

The Worksheet section is one of the main project modules for planning and managing your formulas and the associated tasks.

Within the Worksheet section, you can plan experiments in a format that is similar to Excel and enrich the experience with data that is interconnected. Learn more about Worksheet from the Worksheet Overview help article.

Application Engineering

The Application Engineering section allows you to customize how you manage and compare your Property Task data by adding formulas and Inventory items.

 
Reporting

The Reports section links to the Reports tool and gives an Excel-like view of data with the ability to manipulate and visualize it in a variety of ways.

Reporting within the Projects section displays Reports that pertain to the information within the specified Project.

 

Editing a Project

Project information can be edited after a project is created. To edit details about an existing Project, click on the 'Manage Details' button in the top right corner of Project Home. From there, you can edit Project details, and add notes. You can also upload or download attachments from this page.

Project Notes

To add a note to a Project, begin typing in the Project Notes field and click Save to add your note to the project. To add an attachment to a Project, click on the paperclip icon to the left of the Notes field. 

Screenshot_2022-12-19_at_10.15.21_AM.png

Tip: While in the Project Details page, click and hold on any file(s) you would like to add and drag and drop it into anywhere in the browser window. This will attach the file(s) to your Project, and the file(s)'s thumbnail will appear in the Notes section.

Project Collaborators

If you're collaborating with multiple people or teams on a Project, you can click on the "Add" button under the Collaborators section to add a new collaborator or click on the trash can icon to delete an existing collaborator. 

Screenshot 2023-12-01 at 1.54.51 PM.png

Roles and Access

At the Project level, it is possible to better manage the access that users have to child objects of the Project and provide more granular access controls to which access can be managed from within the Project.

Here are the 5 roles that can be granted to the Project:

  1. Owner - The Owner has full access to the Project and is the only user who can add users to the project or update the user roles. The owner can view and edit the Project details, worksheet, and tasks within the project.
  2. Editor - An Editor has full access to the Project. An editor has the same access as an owner but cannot add or edit access roles within the Project.
  3. Viewer - A Viewer will have view-only access to the Project and Worksheet. They will not be able to edit Project details or any information in the Worksheet but will be able to view and edit Tasks within the Project.
  4. All Tasks Editor - All Tasks Editor users will be able to view a Project and the Project details, but they will not be able to see the Worksheet tab in the Project. Task only (All Tasks) users will be able to view and edit both batch and property Tasks within the Project.
  5. Property Tasks Editor - Property Tasks Editor users will be able to view a Project and the Project details, but they will not be able to see the Worksheet tab in the Project. Unlike All Tasks users, property Task users will not be able to view or edit Batch Tasks and will only be able to view and edit Property Tasks within the Project.

Closing a Project

To close a Project, navigate to the Project's Details section. From there, you can change the status in the top right corner to "Closed - Success" or "Closed - Archive". Updates to the Project status will save automatically. 

Screenshot 2023-12-01 at 1.57.16 PM.png

 

Sharing a Project

Each Project within Albert has a unique URL that can be copied to share with colleagues and managers. Projects can also quickly be shared from the Project module by hovering over a Project's row, clicking the three dots within that row on the righthand side of the screen, and selecting "Copy Project Link." The link will then be copied to your clipboard and can be pasted elsewhere from there.

 

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.